Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Aussies to rest Ponting and Hussey

Upcoming star Moises Henriques was the surprise inclusion as the Australian selectors named a 13 member squad for the upcoming Twenty20 fixture against New Zealand.

22 year old Henriques, who was contracted by Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League, is set for an international when the Trans-Tasmanian rivals clash in a Twenty20 encounter in Sydney on Sunday.

Terming Henriques an ``exciting young player``, chairman of selectors, Andrew Hilditch said, “This provides a wonderful opportunity for Moises Henriques. …the all-round ability to play a role in the World Twenty20.”

``We recently included him in the PMs XI match against New Zealand where he played exceptionally well and we are hoping this opportunity will help him to continue his development,`` he said.

Michael Clarke, who missed Australia’s last Twenty20 match against South Africa returns to lead the side after Ricky Ponting opted to sit out of the clash with wicketkeeper Brad Haddin serving as his deputy.

Clarke, though, is a doubtful starter for final ODI of the Chappell-Hadlee Series - which is level 2-2 - on Friday. The batsman is suffering from upper-back pain, and played through significant discomfort in Australia`s six-wicket win on Tuesday.

Joining Ponting on the sideline is Michael Hussey.

"Given the high workload of Ricky Ponting and Mike Hussey since the Indian Test series in October we have decided, in consultation with these players, it is appropriate they miss this game,” Hilditch said.

Shaun Marsh, nursing a back injury, is the other notable absentee from that squad.

Sunday will witness a Twenty20 double-header at the SCG, with the Australian women`s side taking on their New Zealand counterparts before the men`s game. It will be Australia`s last official game till they begin their defence of the Women`s World Cup, which kicks off in Australia on March 7.


Michael Clarke (Capt), Brad Haddin, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, David Warner and Cameron White.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup