Wireless Edition
Top Stories

South African IPL schedule announced

The 2009 IPL season will kick off at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town on April 18 while the final will be held at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Sunday, May 24th.

The semi-finals meanwhile are to be held on May 22 and 23 in Pretoria and Johannesburg respectively.

In a double header on the first day, last year's winners Rajasthan Royals will take on the Bangalore Royal Challengers, Bangalore, while the Mumbai Indians would clash with the first edition's runners-up Chennai Super Kings at Cape Town.

In all, the 59 matches will be held in eight cities: Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Pretoria, East London, Kimberly, Bloemfontein and Port Elizabeth.

Kingsmead in Durban, which has a large number of South Asians, has been allotted the lion's share of 16 matches while the Centurion Park in Pretoria will host 12 ties.

The Wanderers in Johannesburg and Newlands in Cape Town will hold eight matches each, with the latter playing host to four of these on the first two days of the competition.

Seven matches are to be held in St George's Park in Port Elizabeth while Buffalo Park in East London has been allotted four matches.

Two matches each have been handed over to Outsurance Oval in Bloemfontein and De Beers Oval in Kimberley.

Matches will be held at 4 pm (12.30 pm local time) and 8 pm (4.30pm local time) IST.

There are a total of ten double headers (two matches back to back at the same venue) with Durban hosting half of these.

IPL commissioner Lalit Modi revealed that official broadcaster Sony will telecast the matches in three languages - English, Hindi and Bengali.

For full fixture details click here.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup