Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Foster and Key recalled by England

Essex wicketkeeper James Foster and Kent captain Rob Key have been named in the England 15 to play in the ICC World Twenty20 while England's women have chosen the same 14 strong squad which won the ICC Women's World Cup in Australia in March.

The England's Menís Team will be led by Paul Collingwood, who captained the side in the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 held in South Africa in September 2007. Charlotte Edwards captains the Women's Team.

Rob Key, 29, last played for England in 2005 while you have to go back to Melbourne in 2002 to find the last time that James Foster, 29, was involved in an England team.

There is a first full international call-up for Foster's Essex team mate Graham Napier. Previously the closest Napier, 29, came to an England selection was when he was named in the 30 man squad for the 2004 Champions' Trophy.

Eoin Morgan, the young Middlesex left-hander, has also been called up to the 15 man party after declaring his desire to represent England in the future. Andrew Flintoff is included in the squad but the selectors will continue to monitor his rehabilitation following recent knee surgery. National selector Geoff Miller said: 'We have picked Andrew but we will keep in constant touch with him and the medical team during his rehabilitation. He is passionate about playing in this event but he will only play in the ICC World Twenty20 if he is fully recovered. He will be doing all he can to get fit but he will not be risked if there is any doubt about his fitness.'

Paul Collingwood said: 'I am really excited about captaining this squad for the ICC World Twenty20 especially as it will be infront of our own fans here in England. At the end of the recent Caribbean tour it was well known that I wanted some time to think it over but now I am looking forward to the tournament. We have a talented squad with some new faces and there is the added incentive for everyone of a Lord's final.'

Charlotte Edwards, the England women's captain, added; 'This tournament gives a real chance for women's cricket to attract millions of new followers and players across the world. We enjoyed our World Cup success but now everyone is firmly focussed on this event and the prospect of appearing on the same stage as the men at the semi final and , hopefully, final stage.'

The men's event will be played at Lord's starting on June 5 with England taking on Netherlands, The Oval and Trent Bridge with the women's group stages at Taunton before they move to Trent Bridge and The Oval for the semi finals and then Lord's for the June 21 final.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup