Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Symonds makes the Aussie World Cup squad

Fast bowler Brett Lee, all-rounders Shane Watson and Andrew Symonds have been picked up for the 15-member Australian squad for next month's Twenty20 World Cup in England.

Victorian fast bowler Dirk Nannes and Twenty20 sensation David Warner of New South Wales have also been selected for their consistent performances in the shortest version of the game. Both the players are currently playing for Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in South Africa.

Ricky Ponting will lead the side while Michael Clarke will be his deputy.

The inclusion of Lee and Watson has come as a surprise because both haven't bowled in competitive matches in the last year or so.

Lee is coming out of an foot and ankle surgery and is expected to make his international comeback in Thursday's Twenty20 international against Pakistan in Dubai. He is also likely to join Kings XI Punjab in the IPL.

Watson could also make a return to bowling in the series finale against Pakistan, and has similar plans to play for IPL's defending champions Rajasthan Royals.

National selection panel chairman Andrew Hilditch said it was a strong squad with the potential to win the Twenty20 World Cup.

"Building up to this selection, Shane Watson has returned to the one-day side and performed extra well with the bat in the series in the UAE. He'll return to bowling in Thursday's T20 game there and adds strength and versatility to the side.

"At his best Andrew Symonds is one of the best T20 players in the world. In limited opportunities in the UAE he showed in the second game his ability to win matches for Australia. He also adds versatility to our squad," said Hilditch in a statement.

Squad : Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke (vice-captain), Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Peter Siddle, Andrew Symonds, David Warner and Shane Watson.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup