Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Punjab edge out disappointing Delhi

Kumar Sangakkara was the hero for the Kings XI Punjab who claimed an important 6 wicket win over the Dehli Daredevils to sty in th ehunt for a place in the IPL semi finals.

Sangakkara hit 6 fours in his unbeaten knock that came off 43 deliveries as Punjab kept their hopes alive for a semi-final berth. Brett Lee was adjudged the Man of the Man for taking 3 wickets.

Punjab looked in trouble at 35/3 at one stage but Sangakkara and Yuvraj Singh (18) added 53 runs for the 4th wicket and Irfan Pathan hit 3 sixes in his 11-ball 21 as Punjab achieved the victory target with 5 balls to spare.

Kings XI Punjab were 50/3 in 10 overs.

Punjab lost three wickets in three overs as Farveez Maharoof struck with his first delivery in this IPL dismissing Simon Katich (20) having him caught behind by wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik in the fourth over.

Ashish Nehra then dismissed Sunny Sohal (3) in the next over and Maharoof dismissed Luke Pomersbach (9) in the next over to reduce Punjab to 35/3.

Earlier, Brett Lee took 3 wickets as Delhi Daredevils scored 120/9 in 20 overs.

Put in to bat, Delhi got off to a bad start losing opener and captain Virender Sehwag (9) in the third over to Lee. Sehwag gloved a bouncer on the leg side and keeper Kumar Sangakkara dived to his left to take the catch.

In the next over, Gautam Gambhir (8) was run out by an excellent throw from third man by Wilkin Mota as Delhi were reduced to 20/2.

S Sreesanth then took two wickets in his successive overs to increase Delhi's misery.

Sreesanth had both AB de Villiers (11) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (10) caught at mid-on by his captain Yuvraj Singh as Delhi slumped to 51/4.

From there on, Dinesh Karthik and Mithun Manhas added 50 runs for the fifth wicket to save Delhi from embarrassment.

Manhas hit 2 fours in his 25-ball 26, while Karthik's 32-run knock came off 29 balls and was studded with a six.

Lee took his last two wickets in his second spell dismissing Farveez Maharoof (3) and Rajat Bhatia (0).

Punjab have brought in Ramesh Powar in place of Karan Goel. Delhi have replaced Dirk Nannes with Farveez Maharoof, David Warner with Daniel Vettori and Amit Mishra with Mithun Manhas.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup