Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Bears claim second place after thriller

Jonathan Trott became the highest scorer in a Twenty20 Cup season as Warwickshire wrecked Somerset's hopes of winning their group at Edgbaston.

The 28-year-old opener made 38 to reach 469 runs from 10 innings in 2009 - to surpass the record of 464 set by Somerset captain Justin Langer in 2006.

Trott was outscored on the day by Jim Troughton (62) and Rikki Clarke (51no) as Warwickshire amassed 193-6.

Somerset just failed to get the win needed to top the Division on 192-7.

Somerset were given a flying start by Langer (33) and Marcus Trescothick (39) but were unable to score the necessary seven runs in a brilliant final over by Jeetan Patel.

The New Zealand off-spinner, who had earlier pegged back Somerset by dismissing Zander de Bruyn and James Hildreth, conceded just five singles and claimed the key wicket of Craig Kieswetter.

The wicketkeeper took Somerset to the brink of victory with 39 from 25 balls until he drove a catch back to the bowler, and Ben Phillips and Arul Suppiah could only scramble one off the last delivery before the inevitable run out in going for a suicidal second run.

Earlier, Somerset's new-ball pair, Charl Willoughby and Phillips, took a pounding when Warwickshire lost only one wicket - Neil Carter caught at long on - when galloping to 66 in the first six overs.

Only a superb return by Suppiah halted Trott's charge when he chanced a second run to mid-wicket but Warwickshire still went past 100 from 57 balls as Troughton moved towards the highest of his four Twenty20 fifties this season.

The left-hander hit nine fours and a six before holing out at mid-wicket as Alfonso Thomas recovered from an expensive first over and posted a return of 2-33.

Off-spinner Omari Banks also applied the brakes in a spell of 1-26. But Clarke, on 27, made Somerset pay for a missed chance at long on, the all-rounder completing his half-century with six fours and a six from 30 balls.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup