Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Teams set for Champions League draw

The draw for the inaugural Twenty20 Champions League carrying a total prize money of $6 million and $3 million for the winner will take place on Thursday July 30th.

Twelve teams are slated to contest the inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20, which will be held in India from October 8th to 23rd at Bangalore, Hyderabad and Delhi.

The teams that have qualified and are eligible to play in the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 include the IPL 2009 winner the Deccan Chargers and the losing finalists the Royal Challengers Bangalore, who will be joined by the top league finishing team of Season 2009 the Delhi Daredevils.

Other 2009 domestic finalists and winners include: Victorian Bushrangers and New South Wales Blues from Australia, Cape Cobras and Diamond Eagles from South Africa, Otago Volts from New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies and Wayamba from Sri Lanka. England's Twenty20 Cup finalists will be decided on August 25, 2009.

The teams will be divided into four groups of three each and will initially play each other on a league basis. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the second stage and four teams from the second stage would make it to the Semi Finals. The Champions League Twenty20 2009 will witness a total of 23 matches.

Speaking on the occasion, Lalit Modi, Chairman, Champions League Twenty20, said, "We are glad to see the CLT20 taking shape and momentum as the year’s most eagerly awaited club championship. Having had considerable experience from the Indian Premier League’s success in South Africa, we believe that the club concept will slowly but surely be accepted by cricket fans across the world.

The Champions League Twenty20 is thus the ideal tournament to crown the best-of-the-best in club cricket from across the cricketing world. This time around we are fully equipped to conduct an extremely successful tournament in India and given the cooperation of our fellow cricket boards from Australia and South Africa and ESPN STAR Sports, I am confident that the CLT20 will truly be a global event.”

Manu Sawhney, Managing Director, ESPN STAR Sports, said, “We are looking forward to the launch of the Champions League Twenty20 2009 edition. CLT20 is well set to become the marquee tournament on the international cricket scenario where the best club teams from top cricketing nations will compete for the ultimate honor to be adjudged as the Champion of Champions.

We, at ESPN STAR Sports, are committed to showcasing the exciting action from this tournament to fans through the most engaging and entertaining presentation across our multiple platforms, and are confident that the Champions League Twenty20 tournament will emerge as a celebrated winner and occupy its rightful premium position in global cricket.”

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup