Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Bangalore win the toss, elects to bat

Bangalore Royal Challengers skipper Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to field against Delhi Daredevils in a shortened Champions League match on Saturday at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

In a match which would see several cricketing stars in action, the Royal Challengers, who were thumped by Victorian Bushrangers in the League B opener on Thursday, just cannot afford to lose as it would confirm their ouster.

The Bangalore squad looked well-balanced on paper with world-class batsmen and bowlers in their ranks but they have not been able to put their act together in the tournament so far, having won just one game out of four

Any side which has Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid, Ross Taylor, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey and Mark Boucher would be a formidable batting unit but they have not fired in unison in two out of their four matches.

In the bowling front also, Bangalore boasts of Anil Kumble, Kallis, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe and Praveen Kumar but here again, except for Kallis, none has been consistent.

Bangalore need an inspired performance from Kumble against the likes of his former India colleagues Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir.


Royal Challengers: A Kumble (captain), B Kumar, B Akhil, R Bishnoi, MV Boucher, R Dravid, JH Kallis, V Kohli, P Kumar, MK Pandey, DW Steyn, LRPL Taylor, RV Uthappa, RE van der Merwe, R Vinay Kumar

Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir (captain), R Bhatia, TM Dilshan, KD Karthik, GD McGrath, M Manhas, A Mishra, Y Nagar, DP Nannes, A Nehra, AM Salvi, PJ Sangwan, V Sehwag, OA Shah, MK Tiwary

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup