Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Trinidad win the toss, elect to bat first

Trinidad & Tobago captain Daren Ganga won the toss and elected to bat against Diamond Eagles in their Super Eight match of the Champions League on Sunday.

Kieron Pollard's exploits with the bat down the order has immensely benefited the Caribbean side in the Twenty20 tournament as twice he played destructive knocks to contribute in his side's impressive run in the event.

Single handedly, Pollard snatched victory for the jaws of defeat against NSW Blues when he hammered a 18-ball 54.

Dwayne Bravo is on a wicket-taking spree and his military medium pace has proved be quite effective as he had already bagged 10 wickets, the highest so far in the tournament.

Apart from Pollard, skipper Daren Ganga, Denesh Ramdin, William Perkins and Darren Bravo are gradually getting into the groove and are peaking just at the right time in the cash-awash event.

On the bowling front apart from Dwayne Bravo, Sherwin Ganga, brother of skipper Darren Ganga, was brilliant against New South Wales as the off-spinner played a crucial role in steaming the run flow.

South Africa's Eagles, on the other hand, spelt the ouster of English county Somerset on Friday and this has made the semifinal tussle in League A quite interesting.

Whoever wins the match between Eagles and Trinidad & Tobago will surely be through to the next stage and then it will be left between the losing side and NSW.

Since losing their first match against NSW, Eagles have gradually lifted their performance, winning consecutive matches this far.

Either of the openers - Rilee Rossouw and Morne van Wyk - has clicked in one or the other match and if they get along together, things can be very difficult for any rival team.

Ryan McLaren has been quite useful down the order but skipper Boeta Dippenaar is due for runs.

Cornelius de Villiers is excellent with the ball for Eagles and has provided breakthroughs at vital moments.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup