Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Kieswetter and Lumb included in England squad

Craig Kieswetter and Michael Lumb have been named in England’s 15 man squad for next months Twenty20 World Cup in the West Indies.

Essex batsman Ravi Bopara returns to the squad along with Sussex’s Michael Yardy while team mate Matt Prior misses out behind the stumps after the selectors decided to pick the newly qualified Kieswetter.

"We believe we've picked a balanced squad that can meet the needs of the Twenty20 format - aggressive batting with variation and strength in depth and various bowling options that accommodate the conditions and surfaces in the West Indies,” said England National Selector Geoff Miller.

”Our fielding, which is such a vital aspect of limited overs cricket, has improved markedly and there's no reason we can't perform well in what will be a challenging global tournament.”

"On the recent tour of Bangladesh Craig Kieswetter showed what he is capable of in international limited overs cricket and as a wicketkeeper at the top of the order he gives us options down the order,” he added.

”Craig has improved over time and his selection indicates real competition for places which is only healthy for the England team. Despite missing selection for this format of the game Matt Prior very much remains in the England set up and a part of our plans.”

"Michael Lumb has consistently performed well in limited overs cricket for Hampshire and has also impressed during his time in the IPL and with the England Lions. As a powerful left-hander Michael adds aggression to our batting and has the ability to compliment the rest of the line-up.”

"Michael Yardy has also performed at a consistently high level for his county, Sussex, in limited overs cricket and knows his game inside and out. Both Michael and Ravi Bopara have earned recalls to the England squad after going away and working hard on their cricket with excellent results."

England squad - Paul Collingwood, James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup