Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Vijay fireworks light up the Chepauk

Morali Vijay produced a stunning innings of 127 from just 55 balls to help the Chennai Super Kings score an incredible 246 runs as the Rajasthan Royals bowlers suffered a horrific day.

The bowlers were dispatched for 19 fours and an incredible 17 sixes as Shane Warne’s bowlers were spared no mercy as Vijay (127) helped the Super Kings score the highest ever total in the history of the Indian Premier League.

The Super Kings got off to a sensational start thanks to Vijay who launched a brutal blitz on the Royals bowlers in the searing heat to give Warne lots to worry about.

Vijay attacked Sumit Narwal in the second over of the innings smashing the young bowler for 15 runs including a huge six over mid wicket before smashing Yusuf Pathan straight down the pitch into the sight screen.

Matthew Hayden, who had been watching from the non strikers end, got into the action dispatching Shane Watson for a towering six over midwicket as the Super Kings raced past 50 in just 29 balls.

More carnage followed in the 5th over as Hayden (34) smashed 3 consecutive boundaries off the bowling of Shrikant Wagh before the Aussie smashed a wide delivery straight to Watson at extra cover.

With a high score looking possible on a perfect batting surface Suresh Raina (13) departed cheaply after being caught by Shaun Tait to give Warner the wicket.

The lost of Raina brought Albie Morkel to the crease to partner Vijay and the pair produced one of the best partnerships seen during this years tournament.

Vijay and Morkel built a partnership of 152 which included a stunning spell were they smashed Pathan for 22 runs, Tait for 19 runs and then Narwal for 26 runs which included 4 sixes as the pair run riot in the space of 18 balls.

Morkel (62) was dismissed in the final over along with Vijay and MS Dhoni (0) as the Super Kings reached an amazing 246-5 to set the Royals a difficult run chase of 247.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup