Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Ireland wins the toss, elect to bowl first

Ireland skipper William Porterfield has won the toss and decided to bowl first against England at the Providence Stadium in a make or break Group D game for both teams.

After last night’s farcical Duckworth Lewis defeat against the West Indies; England go into the game under pressure knowing they need to beat Ireland to claim a place in the Super Eights.

Although a wash out will also guarantee progress England can’t afford to go into the game lightly as Ireland can still reach the Super Eights by beating them by a big margin.

Both teams have name unchanged line-ups with England skipper Paul Collingwood admitting they would have bowled first having won the toss.

England team - MJ Lumb, C Kieswetter†, KP Pietersen, PD Collingwood*, EJG Morgan, LJ Wright, SCJ Broad, TT Bresnan, GP Swann, MH Yardy, RJ Sidebottom.

Ireland team - WTS Porterfield*, PR Stirling, NJ O'Brien†, AR Cusack, KJ O'Brien, DT Johnston, GC Wilson, JF Mooney, AC Botha, G Dockrell, WB Rankin.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup