Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Super Kings win the toss, Dhoni elects to bat

Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni has won the toss and elected to bat first against the Kolkata Knight Riders after a dramatic opening ceremony kick started the 2011 Indian Premier League.

Having guided India to World Cup glory last weekend Dhoni turns his attention to the IPL where the Super Kings start as favourites to retain their IPL title.

The Super Kings have selected Scott Styris, Suraj Randiv, Tim Southee and Albie Morkel to lead their attack; speaking at the toss Dhoni said the wicket will get slower as the game progresses offering his spinners assistant later on in the innings.

Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir said he was happy chasing, the visitors have only named two overseas players with Brett Lee, Brad Haddin and Shakib Al Hasan all away on international duty.

Chennai Super Kings team - M Vijay, S Anirudha, S Badrinath, SK Raina, SB Styris, MS Dhoni*†, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, SB Jakati, TG Southee, S Randiv.

Kolkata Knight Riders team - MK Tiwary, JH Kallis, G Gambhir*, EJG Morgan, YK Pathan, MS Bisla†, LR Shukla, Iqbal Abdulla, R Bhatia, L Balaji, S Ladda.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup