Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Rayudu and Sharma lead Indians charge

Ambati Rayudu and Rohit Sharma shared a 4th wicket stand of 87 to help the Mumbai Indians record a total of 178-4 against the Delhi DareDevils at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The pair came together at the start of the 7th over and helped the Indians take control of the game to leave the DareDevils facing a tricky run chase to keep their hopes of reaching the play off alive.

Sharma led the way with a quick fire 49 which included 2 fours and 3 sixes before he edged a delivery from Morne Morkel straight to Venugopal Rao at third man to fall one short of a well deserved half century.

With his partner gone, Rayudu (59) took control of the match smashing 3 boundaries and a six before he was unluckily dismissed when he slipped onto his own stumps as he attempted to drive a delivery from James Hopes through extra cover.

Andrew Symonds (3) and Kieron Pollard (9) added 5 runs from the final over to help the Indians reach 178-4 and although the DareDevils fought their way back into the game the home side will feel confident of recording their 8th victory.

The Indians got off to a great start thanks to Aiden Blizzard who scored 37 runs from just 23 deliveries; having failed with the bat against the Kings XI Punjab, the Aussie scored 5 boundaries off the bowling of Morkel in the 3rd over.

Sachin Tendulkar added 14 runs during the pairs opening stand of 50 but the DareDevils struck back twice in the space of two overs to remove Tendulkar and Blizzard.

Tendulkar was the first to go in the 6th over after he attempted an uncharacteristic swipe off the bowling of Irfan Pathan, who knock over the Indians skipper’s off stump.

Blizzard followed 10 deliveries later after he was caught by Virender Sehwag at midwicket off a delivery from Shahbaz Nadeem to leave the home side 54-2.

Despite the double setback the Indians remained on course for a big total thanks to Rayudu and Sharma which leaves the DareDevils facing a tricky run chase.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup