Wireless Edition
Top Stories

t20 Champions League set for qualifying stage

This year’s t20 Champions League is set to feature a four team qualifying tournament as the BCCI look to strengthen the competitions appeal to Indian fans by including a forth team from the Indian Premier League.

After a lukewarm response to the first two tournaments from Indian cricket fans the BCCI are in discussion with the cricketing boards of Australia and South Africa to introduce a four team qualifying tournament.

Having spent US$1 billion on the TV rights, ESPN Star has been concerned about the ratings of the new tournament which as failed to capture the imagination of the Indians cricket public.

The two qualifies from the round robin competition would win places in the main tournament which is scheduled to start at the end of September in India.

The introduction of the qualifying tournament would likely mean teams from New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies battle against the Kolkata Knight Riders for passage through to the lucrative competition.

The two teams would join the Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, West End Redbacks, SpeedBlitz Blues, Nashua Cape Cobras, Chevrolet Warriors and the winners of the Friends Life t20 in India.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup