Wireless Edition
Top Stories

Kandamby wins the toss, Sri Lanka bowl first

Sri Lanka skipper Thilan Kandamby has won the toss and elected to bowl first against England as the teams clash in a one off t20 international at the County Ground in Bristol.

Having won the Test series 1-0, the current t20 World Cup champions will be looking to get their preparations for next year’s tournament off to a good start with victory over Sri Lanka.

The tourists meanwhile will be looking to bounce back in the shortest form of the game after a rain interrupted test series which will be remember for their meltdown in Cardiff during the final afternoon of the first test.

Surprisingly new England skipper Stuart Broad has made his mark on the team by leaving out in form Ian Bell who has been replaced by Ravi Bopara, a player who isn’t exactly in the best form of his life.

England have also handed a debut to Jade Dernbach while Craig Kieswetter and Samit Patel make a return to international cricket for England.

Sri Lanka meanwhile can call on the services of one day specialists Lasith Malinga and Sanath Jayasuriya, while 24 year old all rounder Angelo Matthews is set to play after missing out on the test series because of a quadriceps muscle injury.

England team - JM Anderson, AN Cook, KP Pietersen, EJG Morgan*, ST Finn, MJ Prior, IR Bell†, SCJ Broad, GP Swann, CT Tremlett.

Sri Lanka team - ST Jayasuriya, DPMD Jayawardene, KC Sangakkara†, AD Mathews, SHT Kandamby*, BMAJ Mendis, KMDN Kulasekara, NLTC Perera, SL Malinga, S Randiv, RAS Lakmal.

source -
Wireless Edition Home
Cricket | Champions League Cricket | IPL | ICL | Twenty20 World Cup